Lamichhane returns as Nepal bowl; Shamsi replaces Maharaj for South Africa


Nepal chose to bowl against South Africa

Nepal have won the toss and elected to bowl first in Kingstown as the T20 World Cup 2024 Group D action moves to the Carribean.
Nepal skipper Rohit Paudel said he was expecting dew and thus felt the decision to chase would benefit their batters. Aiden Markram said South Africa would have batted first in any case, so as to allow their batters to get some time in the middle.

South Africa have made one change with Keshav Maharaj making way Tabraiz Shamsi. Nepal meanwhile welcome Sandeep Lamichhane back into the side, having played their last game 10 days ago.

As for the pitch and conditions, the square boundaries are 61 and 67 metres, while the shortest boundary is 58 metres in the V behind the batter. The wicket has some grass, which should assist spin and seam but with runs have been scored on this pitch already so a par score might be around 160.

In terms of group permutations and what’s riding on this game, South Africa have already qualified and will be looking to make it four wins from four. Nepal meanwhile are still in with a chance of qualifying, so victory is a must to keep their slim qualification hopes alive.

South Africa: 1 Quinton de Kock (wk), 2 Reeza Hendricks, 3 Aiden Markram (capt), 4 Tristan Stubbs, 5 Heinrich Klaasen, 6 David Miller, 7 Marco Jansen, 8 Tabraiz Shamsi, 9 Kagiso Rabada, 10 Ottneil Baartman, 11 Anrich Nortje

Nepal: 1 Kushal Bhurtel, 2 Aasif Sheikh (wk), 3 Anil Sah, 4 Rohit Paudel (Capt), 5 Kushal Malla, 6 Dipendra Singh Airee, 7 Sompal Kami, 8 Gulshan Jha, 9 Karan KC, 10 Sandeep Lamichhane, 11 Abinash Bohara

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Sources: Knicks agree to 1-year deal with Payne
Home Run Derby Day: Predictions, live updates and takeaways
What to watch in Round 2: Will Royal Troon get any easier? Can Daniel Brown keep it up?
Nuggets rookie Holmes has Achilles surgery
Bucks bolster backcourt, add Trent on 1-year deal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *