Tennessee OL Smith wins Jason Witten Award


FRISCO, Texas — Tennessee offensive lineman Trey Smith has won the Jason Witten Collegiate Man of the Year Award given annually to a Division I football player who has shown exceptional courage, integrity and sportsmanship on and off the field.

The award was given out Tuesday night at the Dallas Cowboys’ practice facility. Other finalists included Air Force quarterback Isaiah Sanders and Southern California wide receiver Michael Pittman.

Smith’s career was in question after blood clots were found in his lungs in 2018, but he came back to earn first-team all-Southeastern Conference honors this past season.

Smith has led coat drives for the Knoxville Area Rescue Ministry each of the last two seasons. Over 1,000 coats were donated each year. Smith also frequently speaks to youth groups and elementary schools.

A $10,000 contribution in Smith’s name will go to his school’s athletic scholarship fund. The contribution will be made by Witten’s SCORE Foundation.

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Hall of Famer Evert announces cancer recurrence
‘Unfinished business’: Clemson’s Carter to return
Marlins get Bethancourt in trade with Guardians
Inside Dak Prescott’s daily training sessions: How the Cowboys’ QB keeps himself in peak game-day shape
Braves deal new LHP addition Gonzales to Pirates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *