Hamlin wins 3rd Daytona 500 in photo finish


DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — New year, another Denny Hamlin win in the Daytona 500, and Joe Gibbs still has the team to beat in NASCAR.

Hamlin won his third Daytona 500 on Monday, becoming the first driver since Sterling Marlin in 1995 to win “The Great American Race” in consecutive seasons. His win last year was a 1-2-3 sweep for Joe Gibbs Racing and kicked off a yearlong company celebration in which Gibbs drivers won a record 19 races and the Cup championship.

Hamlin joined six Hall of Fame drivers as winners of three or more Daytona 500s. He tied Dale Jarrett — who gave JGR its first Daytona 500 win in 1993 — Jeff Gordon and Bobby Allison. Hamlin trails Cale Yarborough‘s four wins and the record seven by Richard Petty.

Hamlin’s celebration in victory lane was subdued in light of a terrifying crash late in the final lap that sent Ryan Newman to the hospital.

“I think we take for granted sometimes how safe the cars are, and No. 1, we are praying for Ryan,” Hamlin said.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Brewers’ Mejia gets 162-game PED suspension
Rams’ Nacua racks up records with 15-catch day
Mike Vick & Bo Jackson lead overpowered video game athletes
Burrow tweaks calf injury as Bengals fall to 0-2
Ohtani has elbow procedure; set to just hit in ’24

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *